I FALL FOR IT

It’s Five Minute Friday – and for the first time since the tornadoes and storms and craziness that comes with living in Oklahoma – I am able to take a few minutes and contemplate the goodness of God and the sweetness of the grandsons.

I found Five Minute Friday when I visited the website of Lisa-Jo Baker, an author, writer, and is the current Social Media Manager for DaySpring.  She is a human rights lawyer who combatted against human trafficking in the Ukraine previously.  If you want to learn more – go on over to her website – http://www.lisajobaker.com

She came up with the idea to have hundreds of writers do something wildly crazy—write—for five straight minutes.  She says, “No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.  It started because I’d been thinking about writing and how often our perfectionism gets in the way of our words. And I figured, why not take 5 minutes and see what comes out: not a perfect post, not a profound post, just five minutes of focused writing.”

I am loving the idea…she posts a prompt…everyone writes something about it.  The prompt this week – Fall.

3 goys on giraffe

I FALL FOR IT

I fall for it every time.  On purpose.  With great aplomb. 

Extreme giggling always follows because once again, they, the 9 and 7 year old grandsons, have proven their talent for jokes and trickery. 

I have no idea who came up with this game, but it’s crazy how much joy it provides the elementary ages.

“Honey?”  I am always struck by the sounds of their voices calling me – I could never not answer!

“What?”  I reply.

And, here’s the kicker and the whole totality of the game – “You’re it!”  Then they roll on the floor laughing. 

I’m it?  I have no idea what to do with that, but they cannot stop laughing because they have tricked me once again.  And, evidently…I am it.

I will continue to fall for this silly game that brings them so much joy.  On purpose.   Because they are my boys and I will do anything to pull giggles from them that light up the room-and my heart. 

What they don’t realize is that I have not fallen for a joke – I have fallen for them.   Body and soul, spirit and heart – I have completely fallen for them.

I delight in them.

And I am warmed from within the greatest depths of me at the thought of a Lord who fell for me…and because redemption was His delight, I revel in it.  He, too, have I fallen for body and soul, spirit and heart…with every breath. 

 

#FiveMinuteFriday Five Minute Friday

 

 

 

About Debbie Maulsby

My name is Debbie Maulsby...and I am a grandson-aholic. I unashamedly pursue any chance to be within hugging distance of my four boys. When I'm not with them, I can be found taking pictures of my husband, Ken, while he, the great fly fisherman, brings all fish unto himself. I walk, I plant flowers, I share Jesus...and I jump on trampolines with grandsons when they promise not to double jump me.
Gallery | This entry was posted in God. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I FALL FOR IT

  1. So cute! I can difinately identify. Thanks for the smiles.

  2. nicagal89 says:

    Thank you for sharing! I was blessed!

  3. Love your take on the theme. I remember teasing my Grandma about her shoelaces being untied even though she always wore velcro shoes. I guess maybe she was “falling for it” too, just to see us laugh.

  4. ambercadenas says:

    I love your love here, the sheer delight and complete adoration you get lost in with your grandsons. It warms me, too – thank you. And what an amazing thing to contemplate and savor… that our Savior has fallen for us. Wow.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words-they are indeed my joy. And to know that my Savior’s love for me so surpasses what I feel for them–well, that just stuns me…HE is stunning. You have blessed me tonight-thank you.

  5. Delightful post, Debbie. Thank you.

  6. Pattyann says:

    Love it. Sometimes (actually, I think it is all the time) it is the simple things that mean the most!

  7. leah j says:

    How can you not fall for it with faces like that. sweet write 🙂

  8. sweet faces – sweet stories-simple love !!

Leave a Reply

